Looking at the artist Johnny Briggs

The artist Johnny Briggs came and gave a lecture about his work in my university, Wales Trinity Saint Davids Swansea. unfortunatly due to personal problems I was unable to attend, So I decided to do some research on him and his work.

of the indentation of a full stop on my late Grandmother’s note pad”. Although the image is very simplistic, in my opinion, it is a very beautiful image that documents a life gone by.

grandmothers fullstop

I find the clarity of the paper fibres incredible to look at, particularly in the area of the full stop. I also thought this image brought with it quite a sad atmosphere when read with it’s caption.

I noticed in the majority of Briggs’ work that he likes to play with and alter reality like in the image below. In a way there is something quite unsettling about this image, it almost seems like a still from a horror movie. All the small details such as the man wearing the suit, his head and arms facing the wrong way seem to contrast against it’s surroundings due to how ordinary it is.

2

Again, similarly to a lot of Brigg’s work the piece seems to give the idea of having some form of sentimental value. The fact that the young child dressed as an angel has been cut out and folded over implies to the viewer that something has happened to the girl, likely to be death, the fact the child is dressed as an angel enhances this idea I found and creates a feeling that this is a precious piece of work.

3 4

 

 

 

Leave a comment