A talk from Esther Teichmann

A while before Easter Esther Teichmann came into the University to give a talk on her own work of past, present and future. I enjoyed learning her different techniques of creating images such as, quite like my own personal work, she creates “sets” in her own living room by blowing up background images to quite a large scale and hand edits them with methods such as painting over sections. She talked about the meaning of some of the subjects in her work such as her shell images act like a metaphor of the female body.

Teichmann also showed us a video piece she was working on using a dancer. The dancer was naked and moved incredibly slowly but fluently. It looked to be an exploration of the female form. It was a very beautiful in a way seeing the strange shapes constantly moving, it was almost hypnotic. I found Teichmann’s talk very inspirational, and found she had an influence over my personal work of how I created my own “sets” and even the subject of my images.

1 2 3 4 5 6

 

(Images above were created by the artist/photographer Esther Teichmann)

Leave a comment