Bill Viola (Visual Studies)

When looking at different installation artists I came across Bill Viola’s work. There was a video that particularly caught my attention as it was filled with such emotion and possessed a strong surreal quality. At first when the subject is not in focus, although the viewer can tell there is a person standing in the darkness, immediately the audience begins to question this idea of reality. Towards the start when the light and water begins to flicker down the body, it is then that this alien-like body truly begins to emerge and a nervous atmosphere begins to set in of what is about to happen. As the water hits the face and breast, it almost appears that the “person” is made from this silvery liquid. It is the emotion shown on the face that makes me feel very uneasy as it give the impression of being in such pain and agony. This agony is even in the body language as the hands stick out in odd angles as she begins to reach up towards her face. It is only when the water begins to slow down does the woman begin to calm herself.

For me this almost seems like a video of a nightmare and, when watching it, I get the sensation and panic of drowning wash over me. I find this work has an incredible impact on it’s audience for what the video possesses along with playing with the idea of human nature and the want to help others in distress but not being able to. This way of working I find incredibly creative using both light and water in such an unusual way to have such an strong impact on the audience. It has really inspired me to create more videos and possibly even experiment with lighting and liquids in future projects.

(The video above was created by Bill Viola and taken from: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UJQmV8aPNao )

Leave a comment